I am in charge of managing website-related things at Kinsta. Practically speaking, I spend the majority of my time writing and updating content. I am also interested in marketing strategy and expanding our reach through leveraging more content channels.

I consider myself to be an extroverted introvert. I like to talk a lot about topics that I am interested in, but I always need to recharge afterward. Large group meetings tend to stress me out a little, so don’t be alarmed if I am quiet or look tired during a group meeting – I am always paying attention.

Weekly Schedule

  • Monday: I work on tasks that require a high level of brain power. In the context of my current role at Kinsta, Mondays are for writing new content, and working on #content-feedback requests that demand a lot of focus.
  • Tuesday: I work on tasks that are considered high priority for the week. Tuesdays are also houskeeping days for reviewing Slack messages and emails, planning future meetings, etc.
  • Wednesday: Same as Monday.
  • Thursday: Similar to Tuesday, I work on whatever needs to get done.
  • Friday: I work on tasks that don’t require a lot of bandwidth. This includes updating screenshots, responding to blog comments, and low-priority items.

My Hours

With a one year old who rarely naps, working 9-5 is quite difficult. A normal day for me looks something like this.

Baby J on a skateboard.
This guy is in charge of my schedule.
  • 5:30 AM: Wake up.
  • 6 AM: Start working.
  • 8 AM: Help out with breakfast.
  • 9 AM: Back to work.
  • 12 PM: Help out with lunch.
  • 1 PM: Back to work.
  • 4 PM: Stop working.

I try to maintain a healthy work-life balance, so I don’t work (much) during my off-hours. With that said, feel free to contact me anytime if its necessary.

How to Contact Me

  • For task-related issues, please mention me in Trello or Jira in the relevant card or ticket – this helps to reduce message fragmentation.
  • For other work-related messages, Slack is the best way to contact me.
  • Typically, I only use email to contact parties outside of Kinsta.
  • Video chats are good for brainstorming. If you’d like to do a Google Hangout or Zoom call, please let me know 48 hours in advance. Even though I am an introvert, I love 1-on-1 meetings to talk about anything going on in your life.

10 Facts About Me

  1. I was born in Hong Kong, grew up in the USA, and currently live in Japan.
  2. I used to work on Broadway shows as an electronic music designer.
  3. I’m very interested in blockchain and decentralized governance, and manage a block production team for the ICON network. We are the #6 block producer on the network.
  4. I enjoy podcasting, and currently co-host three podcasts.
  5. I can play piano, violin, flute, saxophone, oboe, guitar, xylophone, marimba, and drum set (kind of).
  6. Trying tap water from different places around the world is a hobby of mine.
  7. I like clean design (as you can probably tell from) – this was one of my main motivations for moving to Tokyo, Japan.
  8. I have mild sound-to-color synesthesia, which means I can see sound. Because of this, I despise low-quality headphones, and am generally very picky about sound quality.
  9. I exited most of my crypto at the end of 2017, quit my job, and spent most of the money traveling for a year. During that trip, I met my wife and now we have a baby, all thanks to Bitcoin!
  10. I love Leica cameras, and currently use a Leica Q2. Follow me on Instagram!